I desperately need opinions….HELP blogland!!!

If you read my blog then you know that we are decorating our new house. We’ve lived here for about 7 months and are going room by room.
This weekend we finally decided it was time to paint our bedroom. The old color was Navajo White, you apartment dwellers know it well. I lived in apartments long enough, I don’t want to see Navajo white as long as I live!
We went to Lowes and had it narrowed down to
Dylan Velvet:
dylan velvet
and Peony Red:
peony red
We hadn’t yet fully decided when Billy came home with Peony red. Ok. You can’t return paint…and it just so happened that I was leaning toward Dylan Velvet or maybe even something greener like this…
Green Tea:
green tea
Oh well…I let him paint the room red. I was concerned, but I knew that the decision had been made, the paint was bought.
So here is the finished product: (click through for notes)
Peony Red Room
I woke up this morning in my new orange-red room and hated it. As the day is going on, I’m not sure. I find it awfully dark(cave-like)….I need opinions. I’m wondering if other eyes see it differently.
I already broke the news to Billy that I have my doubts…so be honest.
So delurk and help me!!!

23 thoughts on “I desperately need opinions….HELP blogland!!!

  1. Melanie says:

    It looks too red to me. If it were my room, I would paint at least one wall a lighter color, like the Dylan Velvet.

    But I also really like the Green Tea!

    Sorry Tamie! I think I am of no help! 🙂

  2. Shannon says:

    I really like bold colors, especially for a bedroom, but I agree with the above comment that it needs to be tempered with one wall of a lighter, contrasting color. It helps take the “cave” feeling out of it. This summer, well as soon as we can open windows for longer than five minutes without freezing to death, we’re going to be painting three of the walls in our bedroom red, and leaving one wall cream.

  3. lauraloops says:

    I painted my guest room last fall- it was just an off-white cream color. I had wanted to paint it orange (the rest of my house is blue or green) since I bought it, and finally settled on a terra cotta color. It was too intense, so I painted two walls a cream. I still hate it, and I think it’s because it’s a confined space (four walls), even though it gets a ton of light, it seems SO DARK.

    I think red works in more open living spaces, where you don’t necessarily have four walls enclosing it.

    With that color duvet and those curtains, I would go w/ the Dylan Velvet. I don’t like red and green together, but I know Kari/vikarious has that color scheme in her bedroom and/or bathroom.

    I think I have photos on my blogspot blog and flickr…

  4. sara says:

    I like the green tea a lot more… but that doesn’t matter now! 😉 I LOVE red rooms. I can’t grasp this room because of the clashing of the bedding with the walls, so I can’t tell you what I think of it.

    Tim and I have a white bedroom (yeah, probably that same white you are talking about), but we’ve got purple-ish bedding/drapes. We’re painting the wall behind our headboard (which is black), a deep purple color. I guess what I am saying and not saying very well is that I agree with the posters above in that you need to have some piece of your walls a different color.

    I’m no help. I must have wanted to type, though and tell you a long old story for no good reason. I’ve missed “talking” to you!

  5. missy says:

    LOL… that’s all I can say! LOL!

  6. katherine says:

    It’s sort of like a cross between a cave and a bordello. But if you decorated it with a kind of Chinese theme, it would probably look pretty cool.

  7. Michelle says:

    I think green rooms are very soothing, and serene. Good for sleeping, you know? I love the Peony Red color, but wouldn’t be able to handle it in my bedroom. So sorry, but remember, it’s only paint… :0) Have you thought about leaving one wall Peony Red, and then painting the rest with the Dylan Velvet (that’s like a brownish camel, right)? Then you could just have the red as an accent and it might not be so overpowering. Good luck!

  8. Michelle says:

    The red walls are great, but everything else is wrong and that’s what gives it a cave-like feeling. I think if your bedding was all white, you had a funky Danish-style pendant light and similiar bed lamps, and you changed your curtain to a white linen curtain with full blockout lining, you’d be happier with it.

    Otherwise, leave one wall read as a “feature” and paint the other walls a very light colour like the dreaded White Birch or a similar parchment colour.

    All the best!
    Michelle

  9. ruth says:

    I agree about leaving one wall as an “accent” wall. I struggled with wall colors very recently myself!! We just painted our living/dining room area, and it’s similar to your Dylan Velvet (it Behr’s “Almond Toast”), paired up with a red sectional couch. It makes for a very warm and cozy room.

  10. IamSusie says:

    I think it is way too strong. Try white curtains and a white bedspread. Or do a cream on the wall like the light color on your curtains and keep the red bedding. I just watched a room makeover show where the woman insisted on red walls and red bedding like this and the designer changed it and it looked great, but I can’t find which show it was!

  11. kari says:

    Ok, yeah – I’m gonna say if you INSIST on keeping the red color, I’d change up the bedding and curtains to light colors. like….white light.

    Or – paint 3 of the walls one of the other colors. I’m actually not sure if I like any of them that you picked. Its hard to tell on a monitor. I did my loft in a gold color though that I think would look great with the red (though you’ll need new bedding and curtains that way too. )

    The red IS very orange though. Yikes.
    What paint brand are you using? I could pick out some colors from my books tomorrow that I think look good and you could pick up some chips – if you want help.

  12. Jedi says:

    I think the green tea color would look better. personally I hate red walls. I would rather have boring white walls than bright red ones. Heck I’d even rather have black walls than red ones. However, with your red bedspread, I worry that the room will subconciously look like christmas if you have green walls. So I say go for the orange ones. But maybe not quite as dark as that swatch is…maybe a shade or two lighter?

  13. jon says:

    Maybe your husband could install a mirrored ball,
    and a stripper’s pole?

  14. Kristi says:

    Phew, I’m not the only one who was also a little overwhelmed when looking at the picture, that’s a lot of red! I’m gonna go for the cheap recommendation, and add another vote to the folks who have suggested keeping only one wall the red (maybe the wall behind the bed?) and the other’s a more neutral tone. Depending on your living circumstances, and your lack of desire to paint more, maybe a set of long sheer light colored curtains will help break up the room (depending again on what’s on the other side of the window!) Good luck!

  15. Deb Trotti says:

    Hey there,
    Yeah, I am loving the Dylan Velvet myself (who makes up these names). We painted our living room and hallway a similar color and its cool because it goes with everything. Don’t feel bad about the red. I wanted a teracotta colored office and my husband went and purchased pumpkin orange(glossy) paint and painted all four walls. It was awful. I felt like I was living in a cateloupe or something. We finally repainted it this last summer to the neutral brown. So much better!

  16. emilynosoucy says:

    why don’t you paint juste one wall in a different colour ? I loved the green one 🙂

  17. SANDI MAIN says:

    I DID MY KITCHEN IN A BOLD ORANGE, I HATED IT AS I LIKE SUNNY COLORS AND NOT CONFINING ONES. I TEMPERED IT DOWN BY SPONGING TWO DIFFERENT ACCENT COLORS ON IT. I TOOK SOME OF THE ORIGINAL PAIN AND MIXED IN SOME WHITE TO BRING IT A COUPLE OF SHADES LIGHTER, THEN I TOOK WHITE BY ITSELF AND USED EVEN LESS OF IT. NOW IT IS BEAUTIFUL, I ALSO WOULD RECOMMEND LACE CURTAINS AND A ROOM DARKENING WINDOW SHADE. ..BEST OF BOTH WORLDS. MAYBE THEN YOU COULD GET AWAY WITH YOUR BEDSPREAD, BUT I DOUBT IT. DIFFERENT COLOR FAMILY.

  18. Amy says:

    I am partial to red so I kind of like it! You might be beter off just sticking with one red wall since red is so dramatic. But it’s kind of late for that unless you want to primer over it and repaint…I think it would look great with lighter bedding. Something light and bright with a little bit of that orangy-red in it. And with the right accessories you could definitely make it work!

  19. Leslie says:

    Hey cuz,

    I think I’m with you on that one! I LOVE the other colors…definitely something lighter. I like the color for a dining/family room- maybe! Anyway, thought I’d stop in and see what you’ve been up to!

  20. Marsha says:

    The red will work IF you change the bedding and curtains to something else–maybe a “cooler” tone in the cream family.

    It IS awfully bright, though. If you like/need a “jolt” to help you get out of bed in the morning, this might do the trick. Otherwise, I’d say go with the Green Tea color, which seems more appropriate for a “restful” space.

  21. Sunshyne says:

    I didn’t read all the comments, but my 2 cents anyways…. Get some contrast in there and you’ll feel better about it.

  22. jennifer says:

    Oh! My kitchen is green tea! I like it better than white.

  23. jennifer says:

    I didn’t comment on the red paint. Dark colors make rooms look smaller. And your ceiling isn’t very high. It could just be that the large furniture and oversized, dark drapes overwhelm the room. Perhaps you could lighten things up fuurniture-wise and minimally dress the window.

Leave a Reply

