Baz Biz/Maker Faire 2008 Wrap-up – Day 1

I am back! Back at the old homestead after a long and quite delightful weekend in San Mateo. Today, I find myself feeling like a bag of rocks, literally dragging my ass around the house today. But I don’t regret it, girl’s weekend at Baz Biz kicked ass.
2468086665_7bd8c8e8fb
photo by Amy
This was my first major show, so I was super nervous all week leading up to it. I kept reminding myself of how much fun I was going to have with my Sac Craft Mafia sistas and that there was nothing to really be nervous about…but I was totally scared.
Missy and I carpooled out Saturday morning at 6am! (we actually left Sacramento at 7…had to make the Starbucks pit-stop) Which meant I was up at 4:45am to be ready. I don’t think I have been up at that time of day since I was UP at that time…you know, still awake, not waking up!
We got to the San Mateo Fairgrounds at 8:15am and got all checked in, unloaded and set up our tables. Lauren, Amy and Sophia got there at the same time and we all had table right next to each other. HOT.
I was unloading my table when I turned around and noticed that I was sitting back to back with [link]CATHY OF CALIFORNIA! Holy fangirl moment! Hopefully she was only mildly annoyed by my gushing over her! She gave me popcorn. I like her very much.
My other SCM pal Kaytea (or Katie in real life) was across the aisle. We shared our Roman Emporer thumbs up or thumbs down after we had lookers at our tables…made me laugh.
There were so many amazing vendors that I got to meet. Lynn Li of Red Sheep was one the first I met and we hit it right off. She took “breaks” with me and Missy a few times and we all laughed our booties off. Her yarn is amazing.
I also met the wonderful hubby and wife team over at the Woddy Miller booth. All us SCM girls thought he had the best name ever…we(mostly me) shout “Woody Miller” really loud whenever he passed by. His wife Jessica asked me to whip up a teeny owl for her to give to Woddy for thier 5th anniversary. We traded for some awesome magnets with is art on them. If you guys stumble on this post Woody or Jessica…my kid fell in love. Can’t wait for the children’s books. You have a fan!
At the end of the looooong day, all of us SCM gals took our wild and crazy butts to BJ’s *giggle* to get “our drink on” since we were away from kids, men and responsibilty…we split ONE pitcher of beer. HAHA. We are lame.
Later we went back to the hotel, giggled for a few hours and went to sleep…just like twelve year olds at a slumber party…not wild, wooly and free thirty-somethings. Lame Lame. But, I’ll tell you a secret…most fun ever. I haven’t laughed that hard in years.
Tomorrow…I’ll post about day 2.
Also lame of me…brought my camera…not one shot. HAHAHA. I had to swipe my photos from my Sac sista compadres.
2470067518_c6bbd44981_o
photo by Yoli

Tagged , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Baz Biz/Maker Faire 2008 Wrap-up – Day 1

  1. stitchifydotcom says:

    Sounds like you had a really fun time!

  2. Jean says:

    Hi there! It was nice meeting you on Sunday at BazBiz. I bought one of your Hoot Hoot (so cute!)kits and started on it as soon as I got home. =)

  3. AmyH says:

    Hello! I met you on Saturday – english girl, pink hair! Am just about to start my first crochet project, your frog! Thanks for the encouragement and help!

  4. Julie says:

    I love your little red wagon! The gnomes are adorable! 🙂

  5. Lynn says:

    YAY!!!! I have you on my blog too. Totally stalking you on ravelry.. hee hee

  6. Amy says:

    It WAS fun! I feel super-lame, I didn’t even get to have one drink! I was holding out for Lauren’s famous margaritas but then we were all too pooped to party. Next time!

  7. […] Release, crochet | Tags: amigurumi, crochet, free pattern, owl, Roxycraft Woody the Owl named for Woody Miller for whom the first Owl was […]

Leave a Reply

