Roxycraft Tutorial :: Knit a Wrist Pillow

Like I said earlier this week, I was in desperate need of a new wrist pillow (which in my case is actually more of an elbow pillow) to use while at my computer. I get the tendonitis, you know… So I knitted up a wrist pillow this week to help relieve my aches and pains.       

 Step One :: Knit it!
*Note-I realize my stripes are wonky…I had planed to make this a stuffie themed pillow but changed my mind. I'll give you the staight kntting pattern and leave out the stripes.

Materials:
Size 8 (5.0mm) 16" circular needle
1 Skein Vanna's Choice Yarn
yarn needled for closing and weaving in ends

Gauge:
6 rows x 4.5 stitches = 1"

CO 70 stitches
knit staright rows for 17" (add stripes if you'd like)
Bind off and close one seam

 

Step 2 :: Cut The Foam
I used "Airtex – Regular Density Foam" 1" thick.
Purchased at Joann's.

Lay your kntting on top of the foam and cut out the shape with scissors or a knife.

 

 

 

 

Step 3 :: Slip On

Scrunch up your knitting and slip the knitting over the foam like putting a sock on your foot.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 4 :: Close

I crocheted my seam shut, but you could easily shut it using a yarn needled and the whip stitch.

Don't forget to weave in all your ends!

 

 

 

Step 5 :: Give your wrists a rest!

Ahhhhhh! Soft and squishy.

 

4 thoughts on “Roxycraft Tutorial :: Knit a Wrist Pillow

  1. Thanks for this tutorial! Yours look really cute! I need one bad for my wrist, at the end of the day mines ache me.

  2. lauren says:

    I love it!! Such cute stripeys.

  3. ruth says:

    I agree, cute stripes! And I totally hear you on the tendinitis thing. I was almost on the verge of carpel tunnel on both arms in grad school (waking up in the middle of the night to shooting pain on my forearms), and that was BEFORE I discovered knitting/crochet. I’m pretty much screwed if I don’t take breaks every 20 minutes or so. =)

Leave a Reply

